Liberator V.2: Salvation of Innocents: Issue 1 - Cover A

  • Sale
  • Regular price $ 3.99


by Matt Miner and Earth Crisis, Pencils and Inks by Javier Sanchez Aranda, Colors by Joaquin Pereyra

Black Mask Studios

2014

SKU: 045778022397

 

Why it’s awesome: Hardcore punk legends Earth Crisis join forces with Liberator for this unique comics & music collaboration, telling the story of a young janitor in an animal testing lab who stumbles on a dark conspiracy and is inspired to rescue the animals.

Different sides of the same story are told in the simultaneously released comic book and concept album.

Synopsis: When Sarah Mann takes a crappy custodial job at a cosmetics lab, she discovers cold-blooded scientist Dr. Elena Reznik’s secret facility where illegal vivisections are performed on live, conscious animals. Inspired by the stories of Jeanette and Damon’s animal liberations, Sarah pulls on her own mask and sets out to rescue the tortured animals.

Rated M for mature.

 

Creative Team:

Creator: Matt Miner

Producer: Matt Pizzolo

Writers: Matt Miner, Earth Crisis

Illustrators: Javier Aranda (pencils/inks), Joaquin Pereyra (colors).

Cover A: Menton3

Cover B: Rod Reis

 

*30% of Liberator profits will go to animal rescue initiatives.*

 

Reviews:

“It’s refreshing to see a comic hero fighting for something I care about, rather than protecting the financial security of the rich.” -(Earth First Journal)

“A really cool, progressive story about young outcast crusaders.” -Scott Snyder (Batman, American Vampire, Superman Unchained)

“DEBUT OF THE YEAR… It has an infectious energy, a bold purpose, and will speak to many… I think Liberator strikes for the core of the movement and will resonate with a far wider audience than anything more explicit or shocking. This ain’t PETA, it’s far too considered and powerful for that… I’d say this is pretty unmissable.” - Comics Beat (Laura Sneddon)

“This comic really, really doesn’t screw around.” - NY Post (William Vitka)

“Unlike any comic book project to date, Miner delivers a message about the world of animal abuse from the point-of-view of someone with expert knowledge on the matter, while blending it with a gritty protagonist in the vein of Batman or The Punisher.” - ComicBooked (David Gillette)

“Liberator is a fiercely strong, clever book that refuses to preach and takes great pains to explore it’s central issue. Make no mistake, it’s fiercely pro-Animal Rights and Animal Liberation but Miner is far too smart to use the book as a bully pulpit. Instead, he uses it to explore one man’s character and what defines it, from the people he’s with to the work he does and the past he seems to be running from. Not quite a superhero book, not quite a crime one but combining the best elements of both, Liberator is another strong release from Black Mask.” - Bleeding Cool (Alasdair Stuart)